cable suspended bridge

mattp

I'm working on a treehouse project where we plan to build a cabin 80 feet up a tree that is in a ravine, so that access will be via a cable-suspended bridge from the bank on the edge of the ravine. Right now I have ropes in the tree at about 100 feet and at the 80 foot level, and I have set a tyrolean traverse.

I've built ropes courses in the past, and who among us hasn't built a treehouse, but our bridge span will be about 75 feet and I have no experience with something of this magnitude. Anybody here? I'd love to solicit free or even maybe paid advice.

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks, Jason. I've looked at that site and they have some of the most helpful information I've found in Google searching. DPS: our bridge won't have to carry cars. I think we can stretch some cable across the void and it'll "work" but we may have to guy it out to trees or other anchor points off to the side of mid-span in order to make it comfortable.

My initial research indicates that we won't have a problem with loading, but our challenges will have more to do with the fact that trees move around in the wind and we don't want to kill the trees that we intend to use for anchors at either end.

And the logistics and design of this thing are quite a challenge. I've hiked over a lot of suspension bridges and 75 feet is medium small in comparison to bridges you encounter on lots of popular hiking trails but it is still pretty big for us.

111: Do you have ideas about how we might "secure" the tree without damaging it? The treehouse people are all pretty consistent about wanting to let the tree be a tree and I'm not sure swaying in the wind is necessarily an essential part of that but having anchor points on the tree where we pull in three directions to anchor it might be pretty harsh as compared to having a suspended bridge that is not stretched too tight.