old school climbers vs. sport climbers

MysticNacho

Evening all, just thought I'd post a thought or two for discussion. I'm a student at PLU taking a mountaineering class from a certain professor whom I just discovered posts here frequently. Wassup Dwayner! Anyway, after leafing around this site for the first time in months and listening to more than one of Dwayner's lectures, I've discovered and heard a lot of slander against sport climbers.

Actually, I'm going to tell a story first. Gather 'round children. I was climbing with my brother this last summer at Madrone Wall near Portland. We had just spotted a fun looking 75 foot 5.7 climb, the first half a face climb, second half a crack climb. Looked like a relatively small crack, and my rack of 1 set of nuts, half a set of hexes, and 1 cam looked like it just might be up to the job. I could always downclimb if I couldn't protect it, after all, it was only 5.7.

So off I went, clipped a bolt 15' off the ground, discovered a rusty old piton 20' feet of the ground, clipped that too. Soon after, the crack begun. I fumbled around attempting to get my nuts & hexes to fit in, but the crack wasn't deep enough in most places to accept them. Finally, at about 60', I found a nice little spot for a #2 stopper, so I stuck that sucker in and kept climbing. 15' higher, I reached the bolt anchors. There was groundfall potential before that nut was placed, but it was ok, I felt comfortable enough that I could have finished the climb without placing a single piece of pro.