Practice makes perfect

Toast

Here's an idea...

Any interest out there in running a couple of indoor mini-clinics on complex anchor systems, self rescue and all the stuff a good newbie should have down cold before venturing out to lead?

Like some of you, I'm new to rock climbing, but I'd like to learn to lead. Recent threads have pointed out that a new climber has no business being on the sharp end of a rope without acceptance of the risk, good judgment and solid technical skills.

I've been reading and re-reading Long's Climbing Anchors as well as all the print material I can get my hands on. On occasion I'll get up the gumption to rig table legs and chairs into multi directional or equalized anchors and practice emergency tie off [Roll Eyes] This is all good, but practicing solo lacks some of the scenarios like dealing with rope management and swapping leads on a hanging belay. Besides it'd be handy to have a few eyes scrutinizing the systems and get some collaborative input [rockband]

I'm not saying I know how to do all this, but I want to make sure I figure it out... and I'd like to make sure you do too [Wink]

Any interest out there... Leejams, SK, TLG, others?

[ 11-15-2002, 01:31 PM: Message edited by: Toast ]

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

toast, it sounds like you've already done more indoor mini-clinic-ing than i could imagine. i've read long's book and surveyed his pics, but i've never had any real interest in setting up anchors amongst pieces of my furniture. an outdoor hands-on clinic with more opportunity for realistic set-ups (and more so, practicing self-rescue stuff) would be much more appealing ...

quote:

Originally posted by thelawgoddess: