Adding Cams to Trad Rack

b-rock

Ok, I'm sure to get all kinds of differing opinions on this one, but I need some advice on picking up some cams to add to my fledgling trad rack of BD stoppers and miscellanious tricams. I'm new to placing pro and am starting to get decent with placing the stoppers, but I feel somewhat limited in many situations, namely larger and parallel cracks.

Any thoughts on Rock Empire Robot Cams? They seem to be cheaper. Or should I stick with Metolious or BD and get fewer? Advice on sizes that are most versatile? Thanks.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

brock,

start with sizes that you feel less secure with. slughtly larger and slightly smaller then hands.

i am sure everyone has a preference on what cams to buy, but they all work. if money is an issue then concentrate on the finding deals or going with a less expensive brand. if not, go for what you think is the best cam for your money.

one thing to note, is that some of the cheaper cams may not last as long/ durability issues.

best= black diamond

best deal= trango

I am in the minority but I say consider the old style friends. The are cheap and robust enough to last the rest of your climbing days. If you can get to MEC you can get them plenty cheap. In the smaller sizes tho the flexible cam does come in handy more often than the larger sizes.

Just my opinion, I may be right or wrong, but...

1st, buy a set of hexes. With a set of stoppers and a set of hexes you can climb almost any alpine route.

2nd, get four el cheapo cams: .5, .75, 1, 2 (matching BD sizes)

3rd, climb your brains out and if you still love it you will find the money for a set of Black Diamond Camalots.

4th, do what you can to scrounge for booty. You'd be surprised how much free gear is out there.

Good luck.