peter puget, billcoe & the rest of you old farts..

RuMR

• Replies 71
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Turn 55 this summer and I'm way happy any time I can just get back to solid trad 10 - anything past that is work / family dependent. Bill and I do have a couple of hard projects planned for this year somewhat harder than that but we'll just have to see how the year goes. None of what we have planned will likely be in the teens range if he and I get up them.

Hmm this is funny I just going to post something concerning age and climbing hard. RumR is always going off about climbing 5.12 is not that hard, but I am always left thinking, "what hell is he talking about 5.12 is not hard and anybody can do it???". I have been climbing for 17 years and I never been able to pull a 5.12 and I have only managed a single handful of 5.11's. There has been times of being a climbing bum, and still I never seem to progress further than a few 11's sends.

So what gives, am I not driven enough? Hell I work out quite a bit, 3-2 hour long bouldering sessions a week, 2-3 mountain bike rides a week. I feel like that is quite a bit considering I working about 50 hours a week and trying to raise a child. I also know I like good food and good drink, is that is what is holding me back?

Am I too old? Well manboy's friend is older than I but obviously in way better shape. Is he one of the few mutants out there? Or can anybody get that strong? It impressive seeing that picture and definitely give me some hope of getting stronger. Ideally, well my dream, when I was younger and new to the sport was to lead 5.12 trad, but I am just not seeing it happen. I have been stuck maxing out in 10 land for so long, sometimes I feel like I would be happy to just hold onto climbing at that level, but still dream that I can get stronger.