cleaning the chains

dkemp

So the leader climbs to the anchors and sets TR and the last one up cleans the gear. Although I've been mountaineering for years, I'm new to cragging and I'm hearing two schools of thought re cleaning the gear.

One is that you thread the rope through the chains, lower that end of the rope down and rappel to the ground, thus saving wear and tear on the chains. The other method appears to be threading the rope through the chains and tieing back in, then have the belayer lower you to the ground.

I was originally taught to rappel from the chains so I always do it that way. A few weeks back I was climbing with a guy at Exit 38 and he never rappels - he always has the belayer lower him. I noticed in this months R&I article Learning the Ropes they also suggest tieing back in and getting lowered off.

What say y'all?

Dox

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I usually always rap from the chains when crag climbing. These are the situations when I don't:

1. I fucked up and forgot my belay device.

2. A ropegun sets up a toprope for less accomplished climber like myself where there is potential that I may never see the chains... so, said ropegun threads it through chains and is lowered.

3. I am setting up a toprope for someone who doesn't know how to tear down and anchor.

I was taught to minimize wear on chains and rope if there is a sharp ledge it is running on. Maybe there is less chance of rapping of the end of your rope if someone is lowering you... like if you aren't rapping from the center of the rope or something?

Use your judgement... It is nice to preserve the chains. but they are gonna get some wear even from pulling a rap line, although not as much fer sure. In some areas there are glue-ins which can be threaded, but are hell to replace. Then it is kinda de rigeur to rap whenever possible.