Flu Vaccines

Kimmo

• Replies 140
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

btw, sorry about yer kid ivan. sounds like she's bouncing back, which is to be expected.

thanks - bringing her back from the hospital tomorrow if tonight goes well - she only occasionally talks to me like i'm lucifer now :)

learned some fun family triva out of this - turns out my ma's grandfather died in 1918 when her mother was just 2 weeks old - the spanish flu of course, the one that killed more in 1 year than all those killed in all the years of the great war just before it combined - my daughter would no doubt have shared her great, great grandfather's fate if she hadn't gotten the care she did - as for him, the hospitals in those days had nothing to offer, so he died at home, but not before he called a priest in to baptise his girl and give her a name, genevieve

I wish I had more time to write this. I am not a flu expert. I am not a huge opponent to flu vaccines, I personally will not get flu or H1N1 vaccines, but there are some things that need to be understood. Flu vaccines, even "live" vaccines, only prime the immune system for primary exposure. It DOES NOT prime your immune system for primary infection or persistent infection. There is a difference between exposure and infection. You go get a flu shot great, get it every year great, you might get sick, you might not. If you don't and you are exposed it very likely could be because of the protection afforded to you to primary exposure by the shot. Great. The problem is you are never "teaching" your immune system to fight off a primary or persistent infection. The viral antigens involved can be vastly different, as well as the immunological compartment involved in fighting that infection. In the event you do get a primary infection, since your immune system has not been primed for it, it doesn't know what to do and you get really sick until it figures it out. At this point you have developed a lasting immunity to fen