• Announcements

• olyclimber

WELCOME TO THE CASCADECLIMBERS.COM FORUMS   02/03/18

We have upgraded to new forum software as of late last year, and it makes everything here so much better!  It is now much easier to do pretty much anything, including write Trip Reports, sell gear, schedule climbing related events, and more. There is a new reputation system that allows for positive contributors to be recognized,  it is possible to tag content with identifiers, drag and drop in images, and it is much easier to embed multimedia content from Youtube, Vimeo, and more.  In all, the site is much more user friendly, bug free, and feature rich!   Whether you're a new user or a grizzled cascadeclimbers.com veteran, we think you'll love the new forums. Enjoy!
Sign in to follow this  
grandpa

Better Bootlace Knot?

Is there a better bootlace knot (other than the one that I've been tying for the past 50 years) that doesn't loosen up?

thanks,

A heck of a lot of people have tied "granny bowknots" their entire lives and don't know it. A granny will untie itself a lot more than a proper square bowknot.

dood...i read your post on the job sitch and just couldn't bring myself to rip you...man, i just don't know what i'd do in your situation...best of luck to you...

I think i'll go bash tvash...yeah...that'll make me feel better...where is that fat fuck anyway??

I think this raises a great question of why we tie our shoes with different knots than we use to tie our ropes. Why don't we use a European death knot to tie our shoes?

There is a granny knot version of the classic bow and a square/reef knot version. I only recently noticed this and have be reprogramming myself to tie it properly.

I think this raises a great question of why we tie our shoes with different knots than we use to tie our ropes. Why don't we use a European death knot to tie our shoes?

on the shortbus you were only allowed velcro shoes, that's why

windowlicker