The darrington digital guide

chirp

I was thinking about getting the darrington guide, it's really an area I have VERY little experience with but it looks great, just like Red Rocks without the red. How would you all rate the "Digital guide". It looks promising, or should I just use my copy of climbing Washington by Brooks and Whitelaw. Remember, I have been out of washington for awhile :P

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

The print out of that guide has almost been a marriage buster for me as I am constantly leaving it on the bathroom floor. After spending a winter reading and dreaming I am still finding little things hidden in the artistic flourishes. The ornamentation doesn’t interfere with the utility of the topos at all and give it a style and character a cut above standard topos.

Reasons to buy the guide:

1 Best topos of the area.

2 Most up to date info regarding fixed protection condition.

3 Best approach info.

thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif

If you just want to test out the area, check out Mattp Darrington site.

PP bigdrink.gif

Wow, very positive. thumbs_up.gifthumbs_up.gif Ill get right on it! I remember Darrington being some obscure place and I dismissed it as too far off the beaten path for a day trip.

I think it will be a good cure for my need of a Red Rocks fix. Thanks for the info and if anyones down for a Darrington trip sometime I typically have Mon/Tues off and would be down for a trip.

Yup. It's a great guide. My website will get you through a test run in the area, and more, but Dave's "book" is well worth it. His drawings are fun to look at, he has tons of pictures, and there are lots of excellent routes in there that have never been published elsewhere (even though some of them are 20 years old).

MattDarkwSm.jpg

MattDarkwSm.jpg

This pic really does make it look like Darrington would be a great place for Chirp's Red Rock fix. hahaha.gif