Layers for Summer

churkle

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner who will be interning in Seattle this summer and I'm looking to do some climbs of mountains like Mt. Hood, Mt. Adams, and (very unlikely) Rainier. I've looked at the gear lists on other websites for alpine climbing and there seems to be a lot to get. However, as I'm only going to be here for the summer, I'm wondering what layers are essential to buy. I've already got some gear from backpacking: base layer(Patagonia Capilene 1), light fleece(R1 Jacket), and a rain jacket(Patagonia Torrentshell).

I've still got to get some bottom layers, but I'm wondering what else is absolutely necessary for summer climbs. I probably need to get a insulated jacket, but I've got a down jacket from Uniqlo which I don't know is good enough or not. I also am not sure whether I should get a hard shell or not, considering I already possess a rain jacket. If anyone experienced with gear could shed some light, that would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I would start with easy climbs using the gear you got and figure out what you need as you go. Most of my mountaineering gear is also my backpacking gear. Warm down jacket is important for the bigger mountains and nice for the smaller mountains.

My little list would be

- Synthetic base layers (t-shirt & long sleeve)

- Water proof jacket (light weight can work)

- Wind/Water proof pants

- Long johns

- GOOD BOOTS

- GOOD Socks

Sounds like your on the right track. Cheap synthetic clothes are easy to find at second hand stores. Doesn't have to be pretty or expensive, it only has to work.

sounds like you need to add a few things which is pretty easy to find cheap except for the boots.

-good boots with small gaiters. not the large Outdoor research kind.

-knit hat

-thin glove liners and maybe add a mitten shell over that