Alaska range as cheap as possible...

christophbenells

I'm trying to do an expedition into Kahiltna base camp this spring as cheap as possible. Going with a goal of mt France's, mini moonflower etc. and other lower elevation moderates. No Denali.

My questions are on sleeping bags and clothing. I have a 0 degree and a 30 degree bag, do you think one inside the other will be warm enough for base camp or will I freeze?Jackets same question... I have a 1 inch lift down puffy and a 3 inch loft puffy. If I wear both will I be warm enough?

Any advice would be helpful. Looking to go the month of may.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You should be fine. I've used two bags one inside the other like you're describing, and gotten by with a lighter combination than the one you describe. (30'inside 15') double up on pads - and old-school foam mat under a therma-rest used to be the gold standard up there. These days, a closed-cell foam pad under a neo-air might be even better. Especially if you're staying low on the Kahiltna - temps at that altitude (6000') are much more moderate than high on Denali or Foraker. Same for the jacket combination. One advantage to layering like that instead of depending on an "expedition" weight jacket is you have the option of wearing one or the other by itself when it's cold, but not nasty enough to require both. I'm presuming your bigger puffy has a hood. You have a hardshell that will fit over both puffies?

I did a Ht Hunter trip in the first weeks of June and a Ruth Gorge trip first weeks of May. I used a +15 degree bag (WM Apache Super DryLoft) both trips and felt it was perfect. My parka on Hunter was an old REI down parka, borrowed from Alex. In the Ruth I used a Wild Things Belay jacket. Both were very adequate.