Rainier

Joy

I'm very new to climbing...I've only been rock climbing once, and am going up Rainier in July. I was wondering if you all would have any advice as to how I should train for this?

I am currently running 5 miles 3x/wk and walking stairs with my pack 3x/wk...but I'm getting pretty bored with my the whole thing, and don't think I'm making very much progress.

I would really like to get out and climb! I'm getting into the routine of climbing Tiger Mountain every Saturday, but would like more suggestions.

My main goal is to build endurance. What is the best way to do this?

Any insight would be much appreciated! Thanks!

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My advice is, do some training at altitude. I don't think Tiger Mountain really counts. Play around at Paradise, you can drive up to about 5,000'. You can get up to around the same altitude at Hurricane Ridge and can make a pretty easy ascent of Mt. Angeles, about 6500'. The Tatoosh Range (near Paradise) offers several peaks that are 6000'+. There's plenty of other good options, these happen to be easily accesible this time of year. The point is, if you've never climbed or exercised anywhere near 10,000' or more, Rainier is going to kick your butt and you will be hating life. Don't underestimate the altitude, and make sure you start getting acclimated well before the scheduled time of your climb. Enjoy.