Very newbe question

crazycamper

How do you all feel when people are watching you climb, I'm just getting into the sport and like to observe exp. climbers. I'm heading to the Index walls next week to take a short vacation and maybe do some bouldering and maybe catch a few climbers climbing.

Peace

D

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Watching certainly won't hurt, but your best bet is to read some of the classic instructional books, practice what you can on your own, and then find an experienced climber that's willing to head out with your for a day. Check how they climb, how they rack their gear, how they place their pro, build their anchors, etc, etc, etc, etc.

I learn a lot from watching others climb - no matter what their skill or technique level.

Obviously the best is to climb with some folks who are experienced - then you get the best of both worlds (observation and practice).

JayB- its interesting you say read books. For me, I have a hard time understanding/applying what I read until I actually get out and watch or do it myself . So I guess whatever your learning style/strength is the way you should go.

To answer your questions, crazycamper- do what works for you. Ive never been to index, but I kind of envision it as a bunch of climbers pretty focused on their goals for the day (training ground). Maybe shoot on down the road a little further to l'worth and see if you can meet up with some folks. Possibly even smith. I could be wrong, but I see those two areas a little more friendly to striking up conversation, some rides on a rope, and meeting potential partners.

Have fun!

I learn a lot from watching others climb - no matter what their skill or technique level.

Obviously the best is to climb with some folks who are experienced - then you get the best of both worlds (observation and practice).