[TR] Repulse Peak - South Ridge 6/20/2011

Trent

Trip: Repulse Peak - South Ridge

Date: 6/20/2011

Trip Report:

I was way behind. In the seemingly never ending quest for the Repulsive 69, I had been losing ground for the past two years to the crew.

For the uninitiated, the Repulsive 69 are the top 69 most obscure and unaesthetic peaks the Cascade Range has to offer. If it is in a selected climbs guide, the peak is automatically rejected from the list for principles sake.

I needed to reverse this disturbing trend and get back into the chase. At the annual peak bagging slide show, my talk of bolts, warm granite, and cragging had brought a round of snickers from the crowd. I needed to regain some semblance of authority and boost my self-worth a bit.

What better peak to bag to show them that I was back than the namesake of the list, Repulse! The crew (Jason, AKA Snafflebait; Gord, AKA Alberto Tomba; Scott, AKA The Moatmaster; and Tim, AKA Perro Rapido), had bagged the peak in excellent style, nabbing the second ascent of the original route. See link . Their verdict; it deserved to be part of the list, being very repulsive. To regain some stature and put myself back in the running, I needed that peak! I had to put myself in the Repulse club!

A wet crossing would have been better

Repulse_001.JPG

An early wake-up put me at Swamp Creek at 0700; it was still misting. Repulsive weather, appropriate! A quick stumble down to Granite Creek, and I found a log to cross at the perfect spot. Too convenient, this would not make a good repulsive story. Postholing through the timber was not so bad; at least the brush was under the snow. Initially, I climbed up into the overcast, but then it lifted as I proceeded up the valley. Not so repulsive.

Starting to look promising

Repulse_004.JPG

The climb to gain the South Ridge was actually sort of enjoyable, all on snow with minimal postholing.

Too straight forward

Repulse_005.JPG

Fisher Peak:

Repulse_006.JPG