Camping reservation needed on Rainier??

medicsandy

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Been there the past 5 years in a row in mid-June. Needlessly booked a climbing permit reservation the first year, learned my lesson and have never gotten/needed one since. In summary, permit - yes; reservation - no.

Edited by Bigtree

That's why I'm in the Newbie section. I'm NEW to this! Why are you feeling the need to give me shit??? Maybe you shouldn't climb this weekend & concentrate on getting laid instead. It helps me not be so crabby.

Suh-weet! :D Welcome to CCC.com - where eager inquiries are often responded to with high-handed sarcasm from self-designated "experts". Sorry - it's not you and we're not all like that.

I don't believe you need a reservation for Muir. You do need a "wilderness camping permit" however. A wilderness camp permit will not guarantee you a spot in the hut at Muir though, first come first served. You can get a wilderness permit by reservation or walk in. A wilderness camp permit is different from a "climbing pass". I'd call the park and talk to someone as this stuff changes periodically.

And oh yes sunmmitchaser - medicsandy was inquiring about Muir not a climbing permit as link shows.

summit chaser has been trying to get laid - he just too stupid and ugly for any success.

^^ BirdDog mentions "First Come First Served" for the Muir Hut. Keep in mind that once summer guiding season starts, that thing IS reserved for RMI since they bring clients up without tents. During the winter guided climbs, the groups are small enough that there will be enough room in Muir for everybody.

You can register and get your camping permit with the rangers at the new Paradise Visitor Center. It's free.

You will need to pay for a climbing pass if you intend to go above 10,000ft. The pass is $30 (per person) and is good each year until Dec31.

More useful links:

Climbing routes from paradise, including landmarks: