New to Climbing. Suggest Cascades to Climb

Drew Vincent

Hello, I am new to climbing and just finished climbing Mount Shasta in Northern CA for the third time. Its not really technical, just a bit strenuous. I was wondering if anyone could suggest another Cascade to climb next that would be a step up from Shasta, and perhaps one of the more accessable and less obscure peaks where it may be easier to get gear and available resources. Thanks.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have no glacier skills, nor any experience climbing with ropes ...yet. But these are the things that I am looking to expand into. Crampons and ice axe are the only gear Ive used so far. Would most of you recommend taking a course to get aquainted with ropes and intermediate climbing tecniques? Ive read a little about Mt Baker, how is it compared to Mt Rainier or Mt Hood?

hood is fairly basic and straightforward when you do the southside route, but you should still know the basics of roped glacier travel. you might only rope up for the 'schrund, but, if you plan to do other mountains, knowing the techniques of glacier travel will serve you well. i cannot comment firsthand on baker, but by everything i have read here on cc it sounds like the standard route is much the same as hood's in terms of difficulty. rainier on the other hand is a truly big mountain, but if you handled the altitude on shasta (which is similar to rainier - only a few hundred feet lower) then it stands to reason that you could handle rainier, too. i would do the other lower volcanoes of the cascades and work up to rainier since you'd probably be doing it as a two-day climb.

lassen peak is non-technical and in yer neighborhood. if you can get up shasta then lassen should be a walk-up for you.