Going to try ice climbing in Banff

Thrasher

So what kind of tools so you recommend? I just want to climb waterfalls and not that alpine boring stuff. Banff looks like the best place to start and I have some experienced friends going soon.

I was thinking about getting some grivel machines or quarks. What's the deal do you always have to wait 4 days for a membership to post here? I have some M10s for the feet...

Ken H. Scott

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Quarks kick ass. Or some of those Cobras. Or Axars, or anything else with a big curve near the head.

Be prepared for big line ups in Banff on not much moderate ice yet if you are going there now. it was +15 C on saturday that is very warm, rock climbing weather.

If you want a tool with heavier swing weight, get the Quarks. Cobras are good for more delicate stuff. IMHO - you aim and start the swing with the Quarks, and they'll set themselves. Cobras need more 'follow through'. There are advantages to both, but have two different feels. I prefer Quarks in fat, plastic ice...but Cobras where you have to pay more attention to where and how hard you swing.