Coming to WA for college

celticelement

I will be in Tacoma Washington by the 29th of AUG. I will be there at school for the next four years - so long as everything goes well. (I am a bit skeptical of long range planning no matter how concrete it is.)

I want to hook into the climbing community as quickly as I can. I have been climbing off and on here in MD for over two years. I have climbed in the 5.10s in our gym here. I have followed 5.9 at Seneca. I have lead a short 5.7 sport outside. I had been leading as high or higher then my TR grade in the gym. I need to build my climbing level back up again - I have had a summer job that did not allow time for climbing. I expect to have to start back at 7s and 8s. I have everything for TR. I want to get another rope to lead sport on. I would really like to start learning trad. I have only ever done one ice climb, but would like to get into that as well as other snow and glacier techniques. I am not sure how much gear I will be able to buy, but I should have the use of a 4runner. I should be able to get on the military installations to rent some of the ice and mountaineering gear until I can get my own. I will be looking for partners and mentors so I can start roping up as soon as possible. My goal is to learn every discipline that allows me to move in the mountains. The more unconfined that movement is, the better.

My first priority will, of course, be school. Having said that, the whole reason I am coming out west for school is to be where I can have more abundant opportunities to have experiences in the mountains.

I know I can not get integrated with one post to a web site, but it is a place to start. I will be lurking on your site for a while to try and get a feel for it. I am very excited to be moving out west, and hope to start a new life out there.

I hope to see some of you soon on the rock.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic