home wall - attaching directly to wall studs?

Yana

I'm thinking of building something at home for climbing. Most plans for home climbing walls I've been able to find have elaborate frames attached to the wall of whatever (garage/basement/etc) OR they are free standing. I don't have a ton of room to do either of those, but I have a wall in one of the rooms of my home that is already at a good incline for bouldering. I'm wondering how safe it would be to attach my wall (plywood panels) to my existing wall studs using a minimal frame? Those of you with construction/home building experience, any thoughts?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have over 30 years experience building homes and have built one commercial climbing gym, so I feel qualified to offer a reasonable answer.

Newer homes are typically built with 2" x 6" studs on 16" centers (for energy efficency,not structural integerity - the change in building codes came about during the Carter administration when heating costs were extremely high - but I digress). This construction is plenty strong for building into an overhaning climbing wall. 2"x 4" may flex too much on overhanging walls. Make sure you use at least 5/8" plywood or better yet 3/4" plywood. I've seen people rip holds right off the wall on thinner plywood pannels. Also screw the panels to the studs and use washers between the screw head and the plywood. Questions? Feel free to email me at bighurtbob@hotmail.com

Edited by danielpatricksmith

5015359966_96cefd1532_z.jpg

Is that your electrical panel on the wall there? I'm sure you've planned for post-completion access...

National Electrical Code (NEC) 110.26 Spaces around electrical equipment