Scarpa TX Pro boots and mountaineering

dawuda

Hey, i'm just getting into an AT setup. I scored some skis and bindings and then an awesome deal on the TX Pros, but then I started looking closely. They have the bellows with tons of flex in the toe. Does anyone have any idea how these boots would do on a mtn if you had to switch to front pointing instead of skins? Would i be better off with a more rigid AT boot? What are some of you experienced ski mountaineers using for boots that work well for approach, tech climb, and decent? One friend suggested carrying in my mountaineering boots, but certainly that is too much bulk and hassle to switch boots for that section of the climb! Any advice would be great! Thanks

dan

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

they are technically tele boots but claim to be at compatible and have benefits of being lighter and more comfortable for the skin up and any walking because of the bellows. However this also makes them prob too flexible for any serious cramponing. I'm thinking I'll end up selling and going for a stiffer boot. But any advice or experiences are appreciated!

No question, that model; the TX Pro is a telemark boot. They are not a rigid boot and are intended for free heel skiing. I can't imagine they'd be great for frontpointing with crampons on them, but then I've always been a randonee skier and eschew the telemark at all costs. ;)

Like Bronco said check out the offerings from Dynafit and perhaps Garmont's AT boots, possibly the Maestrale.

I use the Scarpa F3 boot and has similar design to the Scarpa XT Pro. The XT pro is a telemark boot that uses the NTN binding. NTN bindings do not use a boot with the standard (duck bill) boot. The XT Pro is also dynafit compatible. The F3’s also has a flexible toe but is strictly an AT boot. I have never had any problem with too much flex while using crampons and front pointing with them.