altitude sickness

dlofgren

I’ve been climbing for twelve years, summited Rainier several times, and up until last year never had a problem with altitude.

However, last summer (’03) took a couple newbies up the DC; bonked at the Cleaver, but toughed it out to the summit for the sake of the new ones. Agonizingly slow; couldn’t eat or drink; absolutely no energy.

Last April I did the Ledges with Pandora's dad (good guy, good climber), but bonked on the exit chute. Ugly. Made it up the chute, but had to abort the climb and loop down the Direct back to Muir w/o summiting. Very disappointing.

Two weeks later went back up to the Beehive to try to get the bod used to altitude. The legs and lungs were strong but I still couldn’t eat or drink above 11,000’.

Questions: have any of you experienced altitude sickness for ____ months/years, and then had it go away? Or is it like a dreaded disease – once you get it, you always have it? In other words, can I hope for a change in ’05? Or am I doomed to being a low-lifer?

confused.gif

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I have problems with it when I'm not in good cardio shape (it seems in particular when I don't run often). I also have problems when I'm low on sleep (doesn't take missing much sleep to do me in either). Dehydration doesn't help either. In the past when I've followed the above guidelines (i.e. good cardio shape, rested, hydrated) I don't have problems. When I miss them I end up with bad AMS.