shoulder relocation

forrest_m

learned a neat trick this weekend for relocating a dislocated shoulder in the field and thought i'd pass it on. (i am not a doctor, nor any kind of medical professional, just an impressed observer.) as some of you may know from experience, a dislocated shoulder is about the most painful non-life-threatening injury out there.

we were descending from the base of synchronicity, up in lillooet, and came across a guy who had taken a long tumble down the steep and icy approach gully. he had stopped himself by grabbing onto a tree, which had wrenched his shoulder out of joint. after checking him for other injuries, we tried several techniques to get it back in (raising the arm over the head, etc.) but without success. as darkness was falling and it is several miles back to the car, we immobilized his arm by in a sling and concentrated on getting him down to flat ground.

just as we reached the creek, we were joined by another team coming down from the climb, and one of them, a week after finishing his WFR course, was able to relocate the shoulder in the following way:

one assistant kneels behind the victim, and a sling or triangular bandage is passed around both their chests and tied fairly snugly. assistant #2 kneels about 105 degrees from the first, i.e. not straight in a line with the injured arm, but about 10-15 degrees more towards the front. he ties a sling aroung his chest and the crook of the injured arm. all the victim has to do is concentrate on relaxing while both assistants simultaneouly lean gently backwards. we could clearly see the humorus moving beneath the skin like an alien baby, until it suddenly snapped back into place. (creepy!) immediate relief followed for the victim; we replaced his arm in the sling to protect it from further damage, and he was able to walk the rest of the way out to the car with minimal assistance.