Hello... Introduction

HiT

Just saying hello and have a few questions to ask. Of course I am a newbie but I am as new as they come. I have never climbed before but I am very interested in learning.

I have no clue where to start. I haven't been hiking very long either but the more scrambles I do, the more I want to climb.

Any input is highly appreciated.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Where do you live?

Washington has the Mountaineers organization which has different chapters around the State ( I think). There might be other climbing organizations up in WA, but I would start there. Portland has the Mazamas, and Bend, Salem and Eugene have their groups, too.

Climbing gyms all have intro "learn to climb" classes with instruction and a temporary ( month long?) membership pass.

You can find what your looking for by "google-ing" a club or gym in your area.

Good luck!

if what you are looking for is a ticket to wilderness adventure then don't spend too long in the climbing gyms - they'll ruin yer sense of wilderness adventure and tune you in solely to face climbing and clipping bolts. they are a good place to start, just don't get too comfortable in them or you won't know what to do once you get outside and start seeing cracks.

and yes, i know that some gyms have cracks built into their walls and that is great (the mazama walls have several and they feel really cool) but the bottom line is get outside as soon as, and as much as, you can!

bon chance!

Lots of good options in the northwest -