[TR] Out East - A Different Kind of Climbing 10/29/2011

Trip: Out East - A Different Kind of Climbing

Date: 10/29/2011

Trip Report:

So, although this is not rock, ice, sport, bouldering, trad, alpine or big wall, it is still climbing none the less.

I'd been considering a career in wind turbines for a few years now and finally got my foot in the door, thanks to a 1 month school I went to last August... Airstreams Renewables Inc, Tehachapi, CA. I had a job offer a few days before graduating and now find myself on the east coast working on wind turbines, doing installation of high voltage electrical systems on new turbines being built. As a traveling tech, I get 6 weeks on/1 week at home ant they pay to fly me to/from home, as well as a good perdiem. The hours can be long (I had 173 hours the last 2 week check) and the work can be physically demanding (not more than many climbing routes though), but the money is good and the work is very enjoyable and rewarding if you like heights, the outdoors and figuring things out. I just thought I'd post a few pics (out of the hundreds I've been taking monthly) and let you guys know that wind is a burgeoning industry. Someone is going to have to maintain all the thousands upon thousand of turbines going up around the world. If you are interested in a career, be sure to check out ARI - Wind Turbine "Boot Camp", it was well worth the $5500, not to mention much quicker/cheaper than all the 6 month - two year programs offered out there. I cannot say enough about what a great program they offered. (shameless plug)

Pano_9_24_11JPG.JPGWind Farm Sunset Pano, Vermont, 2011

P1050124_1_1_.jpgDarkness Closing In, Vermont, 2011

Tag_Line_and_Sun_Rays_Vermont_August_2011_1_.jpgTag Line & Sun Rays, Vermont, 2011

P1050141_3_.JPGCrane Sunrise

P1050159_1_.JPG

P1050168_1_.JPG

P1050175_1_.JPG Rotting bear skull, Vermont, 2011

P1050176_1_.JPG

P1050193_1_.JPGTurbine Alpenglow, NH, 2011

IMG_20111028_091816_1_.jpgTres Turbines, NH, 2011