[TR] Mt. San Jacinto - Cactus to Clouds (C2C) 10/9/2013

dinomyte

Trip: Mt. San Jacinto - Cactus to Clouds (C2C)

Date: 10/9/2013

Trip Report:

OK, I am sure that there are those that call this a hike, but I've seen TR's for Hood and South Sister, so I'm posting it.

My wife and I have been heading to Palm Springs in October for a couple of years. This year, I looked into doing some sort of hike or climb.

I found this C2C hike to the top of Mt. San Jacinto. It climbs from a few hundred feet pretty much in town, up to the summit at a tad under 11K, for over 10K feet of pretty much continuous gain over some 18 miles, and then descends about 6 miles back to the tram that rises to about 8,000 feet. Then, its a 15 minute ride down to the tram station.

First, let me show you what I am leaving, so you know how hard this hike is. Did not want to leave the pool!

PA060309.JPG

I left from the Ramon Road trailhead (which i think is called the Lykken Trail) at about 6am. I had jogged up the trail a couple of days before, so I was familiar with the route that I would be covering in the dark.

Daybreak brought some great views. I did see one other headlamp in the dark, coming up from the Museum Trail, which is the alternative starting location.

It does not look like the mountiain could possibly be that far away or that high, but once you get up there a ways, you believe it.

There are a couple of rescue caches that have water and food, flashlights, emergency blankets, etc. along the way. Apparently there have been some fatalities.

I made some pretty good time and did not see a soul until I got almost up to the Tram station around 11am. I ran into a guy name Joseph, and we did part of the rest of the way together.

We hit snow pretty soon after the tram station. I was not particularly happy that I had opted for tennies, in order to get everything in one carry-on. It was warm and pretty damn slushy for miles.