descending weighted rope

Bill_Simpkins

I'm not a newbie, but I have a nagging question: How do you decend a weighted, tight, rope efficiently with standard gear, no Grigri ?

My first guess, which works, is to use two prussiks and " goe in reverse ", but that is very timely. Any other tricks out there?

--I was working on rescue techniques for an unconsious follower and one rope on a multipitch.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not sure of a good meathod, other than reverse ascending.

I'd probably haul the victim to the half way point, then descend the opposite side of the rope, build a belay an continue from there. It'd be qucker with two ropes, one of the benefits of double rope techniques.

If I had climbed up there in the first place, then I would

fix the rope and downclimb with at least 2 prussiks as a

backup, downaiding off the gear if that would help speed it

up. I would try to never haul an unconcious person without

going down to check them out first, good way to kill them.

Angle piton on a locker as a single-bar brake bar substitute, maybe? I used this set up once when i forgot other rappel gear and it was extremely low-friction so might work well on a taut fixed rope?

In your scenario though, its probably better just to down prussik. Except: you probably used your prussiks to escape the belay, so what do you do then??? Hopefully you have enough slings & stuff....

One other possibility would be to lower the climber to the ground or a ledge if available providing enough slack to rappel normally. I agree with fern that you would want to consider your partners condition and if lowering them could further injure them. Every situation would need its own call on this issue, however, if I was lacking the equipment to safely and efficiently get down to check my partner, then I might consider taking the risk of lowering them in favor of being able to get help more quickly.

Good thoughtful topic...