Banff, AB ice climbing recommendations?

PeakBeggar

A friend and I are heading to Banff this coming friday through monday to check out the area and do some climbing and I was hoping that you all could give me some suggestions on awesome routes to check out, spots I can't miss, places i must see, and good coffee ;) ! I am new to ice climbing (but not new to climbing) and my buddy is comfortable up to WI4+ about, to narrow it down.

Let me know anything you think would make for a better trip!

Thanks,

chuck

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Yeman and I are going to Banff Feb16 to 23. I've been there a few times. You will not regret going and wish that you had more time. But for WI4 and just a few days I would suggest: Johnson Canyon on Bow Valley Pkwy, half pitch climbs side by side that can be top roped if need be, you can run laps all day, 1 mile hike on easy trail: Louise Falls, Lake Louise, 2 long pitches, you can see it from the lodge, 1 mile easy flat hike: Lower Weeping wall on Ice Fields Pkwy, 3 pitches, classic, 2 minute hike, if you miss it you are blind. These are popular climbs with easy access so you can expect other climbers, they can get hacked out. If you are looking for something more challenging you will get a lot more hiking on approach and less climbing. But no matter what you do I know you will wan't to go back.

Peter

Don't think Cascade is all that good a choice right now

Subject: [MCR] Cascade falls ice climb

Date: Sun, 10 Feb 2013 18:32:31 -0700

On my drive home this evening, I noticed a large section of cascade falls has

fallen down/melted out, on the second to last pitch. There is still a narrow

strip of ice that remains on the climbers right side but I would imagine it to

be in poor shape and ready to collapse or melt out in the coming days.

Kris Irwin - ACMG Alpine Guide

www.rockies-ice.com

A bit of input from a local...