Design new gear for Ice climbing

Mike Lai

Hi, guys, I'm a student from Art center college of design. Currently, I have project about designing Ice climbing gear. I need to find some problems or needs for my design. If you feel there is a improvement for your gear (ice axe, crampons, harness, helmet, belay) or you have any new thought or idea about future ice climbing, please let's discuss. This project is about 5 years from now. Also, I need to interview people who has ice climbing experience. If anyone is willing to be my interviewee, please let me know. The interview will mostly via email. Thank you very much!

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

There are a ton of ways you could improve on crampon design. Features that would be useful...

Universal fit (that doesn't require a bulky toe and heel welts in order to accommodate bails on step-in style crampon)

Minimize the time it takes to take off or put on for transitioning from rock to snow (more of an issue with aluminum) points. Step ins are relatively quick but strap on crampons take time, especially with gloves.

Maybe a crampon with a BOA system that's becoming popular on ski and snowboard boots? It would have to fit a wide variety of boots.

How about ratcheting toe-points that stay level even if you raise your heel? Would prevent shearing but also allow a climber to gain a few extra inches of reach using the calves....

Just ideas

Gloves.

Ice climbing is hard on your hands. Gloves need to be dexterous, warm protective and sturdy. All that is hard to get out of one glove. In most conditions I wear thin neoprene, they're cheap, dexterous, fairly warm and protective but they're not very water proof or sturdy. You can't belay or rap with them, so I carry a pair of insulated leather glove, but you can't set screws too well with them on. We need one pair of gloves that does it all. Good luck working on that

Peter