• Announcements

• olyclimber

WELCOME TO THE CASCADECLIMBERS.COM FORUMS   02/03/18

We have upgraded to new forum software as of late last year, and it makes everything here so much better!  It is now much easier to do pretty much anything, including write Trip Reports, sell gear, schedule climbing related events, and more. There is a new reputation system that allows for positive contributors to be recognized,  it is possible to tag content with identifiers, drag and drop in images, and it is much easier to embed multimedia content from Youtube, Vimeo, and more.  In all, the site is much more user friendly, bug free, and feature rich!   Whether you're a new user or a grizzled cascadeclimbers.com veteran, we think you'll love the new forums. Enjoy!
Sign in to follow this  
christophbenells

confusion about "backclipping"

well the title says it all...im new to the rock scene (done alot of volcano climbs) i dont really understand the concept...can anyone explain it in super layman terms?

back-clipped (notice how the rope is "going into" the rock):

backclip1.jpg

correct (notice how the rope is "coming out of" the rock):

backclip2.jpg

Edited by rob

I use the phrase "rock out" to remind myself when clipping.

I have to keep it very very simple as I am gettingold and feeble of mind. :)

I'm also relatively new to the rock scene and have also had some confusion on this. It is obvious when sport climbing with short stiff draws, but when trad climbing with long alpine draws that are flopping around and even swinging in the wind, it appears almost impossible to determine when you are backclipped as the rope flopping around can change the orientation. My take on this has been that it is less important in this instance. See below. Is this back-clipped? Comments?

back-clipped.jpg