V-threaders

YocumRidge

There are a few out there, DIY and pre-fab ones.

I used to have a couple made of coat hangers but inevitably they rust and break, and inevitably that happens on top of a pitch.

Just recently I tried a Grivel candela and it sucked...If you want to spend eternity threading a rope, get that thing :rolleyes:

So, I am leaning towards a DIY rig. Any recommendations on the design, type of wire, etc?

Thanks

• Replies 74
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've been using this thing for two years, and other than the rubber protective cap coming loose and the exposed snagging stuff, it's been well worth the $10.

GP Abalakov Hooker

I had one of those for a long time, too, and had the same problem. After a short while, the cap gets loose and the hook starts poking holes in every damn thing in the pack. I replaced it with a solid shank hooker with a better hook cover. The solid shank makes snagging the webbing/cord really easy. It's this thing here:

Abalakov_hooker_2.jpg

It doesn't have a brand name stamped in it, but I bought it at Monod's in Banff several years ago after I got freak'n tired of the wire rope hooky thingy that RafalA linked to tearing up my shit.

Here you can see how it compares to some standard length screws. It won't fetch your thread on a 22 cm, but it'll grab everything else. The cover is a flexible rubberized plastic (same stuff that ice screw caps are made of) and slides all the way back to the groove in the top of the handle when you're using it. Then just pull it over the hook when you're done. My gear has really appreciated me getting this thing...

Abalakov_hooker_1.jpg

Thanks guys!

Abalakov_hooker_2.jpg

That is Petzl Multihook.

The nice thing it does have a solid shank that is hard to destroy or bend, but its short and as I recall, a couple of partners I climbed with were unhappy about the cap being a hassle to slide.

The Camp hook is 24 cm and seems to be pretty rigid.