Need help choosing route on Adams

Flatlandclimber

I am new to the cascades and will be heading there in the spring of 2012 to climb Mt Adams.

I purchased a book on Mt Adams by the A Falcon Guide.

I don't know which route to climb. I am debating between South Route, North Cleaver, or Mazama Glacier. I don't think I spelled the glacier right.

I am from the mid west where there are no mountains, but I climb occassionally and have mountaineering experience with crampons, ice axe, ropes, etc.

The south route seems boring, but I don't want to get in over my head on the north cleaver. Is there ever ice and snow covering the rock falls?

Help me make this choice please.

• Replies 14
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

So in the spring you may be looking at many many extra miles of hiking along the road no matter what route you choose. The road usually doesn't melt out to mid June or maybe late July like this year.

Based on your question it sounds like the south route is good for your first time out here. Its a lot of snow slogging but you will still find it fun.

you know accessing the mountain didn't happen until around july 1, this year? And that has a long approach. Just, if you're here truly in the spring of 2012, unless we have a low snow year you're talking 10+ miles of snowy approach.

i can't answer the north cleaver. If doing a glacier route--will you have a partner? Otherwise I think the decision is made for you. south or cleaver. cleaver is better with snow but what kind of ice/snow are you looking for on the cleaver? you want some snow so it isn't a total scree slog.

thanks for the replies guys.

I don't want to sound like a total noob. I've gone to the east coast and saw some gnarly shit on Mt washinton in New Hampshire, and climbed up Tuckerman's ravine.

I also have experience with ice screws, roping together with other climbers, belaying, and more.