easy climb ideas in Southern Chile (NOT Patagonia)

My wife and I are going on a trip to Southern Chile for her Ph.D. research (ecological recovery at Chaiten volcano - erupted in 2008), and we will be taking a week or 10 days for fun afterwards. She is a kayaker (I am not) but she isn't much of a mountaineer or a strong rock-climber (protected 5.8 and below). So we are gonna raft a couple rivers (Futaleufu area) and hoping to go on an easier glacier climb or alpine rock-climb during that period too.

First trip to Chile for both of us, I am strong in Spanish and not too worried about figuring out our way around, but I have no knowledge of climbs down there. Any good ideas of resources for me to look at?

Really the best thing would be to take her up one of the glaciated volcanoes that doesnt have mandatory guides (Michinmahuida or other). But I'm tempted, cuz Chaiten is over halfway to Patagonia proper... only a 6-8 hr ferry ride and a few hours of bus... Then there are the real mountains.

Dying to hear from climbers/travelers with experience in Southern Chile.

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

only a 6-8 hr ferry ride and a few hours of bus... Then there are the real mountains.

I can't figure out if this is sarcasm or serious.

The C. Austral is pretty awesome; more ruggedly and remotely awesome than most of the other parts of that region. Rent a truck and knock yourselves out. Plenty of kayaking, fishing, hiking and climbing and was easily the best section ime.

Check out:

http://www.escalando.cl/

http://www.stonedance.com

• 2 weeks later...

From Puerto Montt all the way south to Tierra del Fuego IS Patagonia. Most people just think it's Torres Del Paine / Fitzroy because that's where all the world famous climbing is.