My Gear List: Please critique it!

emperorMA

I'm just getting into mountaineering and am assembling a kit (see this thread for background).

The gear will be for general mountaineering with a skills class and climbs of easier alpine peaks.

I'm pretty well-stocked for clothing except for soft shell pants and hard shell pants...any ideas?

Here's what I've decided on...let me know what you think, if I can improve on my selections and what else I might need. Thanks!

Note: If bolded in red type, the items are already purchased.

Boots: (still deciding based on fit and crampon compatibility)

La Sportiva Nepal EVO

Mammut Mamook

Lowa Mountain Expert

Kayland Apex XT

Ice Axe: BD Raven Pro ... really light but still works like an axe made of steel should.

Crampons: BD Sabretooth Clip ... made for glacier and snow walking but with nearly the ability of the Sabretooth for climbing ice, which may come in handy some day. (EDIT) Going with the Sabretooth per all your recommendations.

Harness: BD Couloir

Helmut: Mammut Skywalker 2

Pack: Mammut Heron Light 65

Sleeping Bags: Mont-Bell UL SS Down Hugger #2 (25 degrees), Western Mountaineering Kodiak MF (0 degrees)

Sleeping pads: Combo of Neoair and Ridge Rest

Belay device: Petzl Reverso (changed from BD ATC Guide)

Ascender: none (edit)

Locking Carabiners: BD RockLock and Quicksilver II

EDIT: Adding in insulation and base layers.

Insulation: Mont-Bell UL Tec Down Jacket (for down to 20 degrees or a bit less), Patagonia Fitz Roy Hooded Down Jacket (for lower temps).

Base layers: Patagonia Merino 1 T-shirt, I/O Bio Merino Contact Tight, I/O Bio Merino Contact Crib Shirt, I/O Bio Merino Contact 1/4 Zip Shirt, Arc'teryx Rho LTW Zip Top.

Gaiters: BD Front Point

Edited by emperorMA

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic