Any Tips On Keeping Water From Freezing On Climbs?

STORER

I'm new to the alpine mountaineering scene and my first "real" climb last year was a true learning experence. One of our troubles was our water started to freeze the first 1/2 hour of our climb. We were all using 1 Liter Nalgene bottles. I know OR sells insulating jackets for around $20. Are these worth it? I was planning on making some homemade jacket out of Neoprene or some other material. All ideas welcome.

Steve

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Were they freezing in your pack? Maybe keep them closer to the spine. A strong drink mix might lower the freezing point just a bit? Can't say I've had too much of a problem on winter climbs, unless I set the bottle on the snow or something. The home-made jacket sounds like a good idea.

You could try to use smaller bottle and keep it in your jacket. Many jackets have a inside mesh pocket for bottles. I have used small plastic whiskey bottles for storing bottles in the jacket and not feel so bulky.

I have met some people who made a camelback system work well inside of their jacket. He made straps to hold the bag on the chest and cut the hose so that it he could drink from it but still be able to store it inside his jacket.

If the weight is not so much of an issue, then thermos are great. What could be better than cocoa? (hear comes the HC comments)

Also, most camelback packs (as well as other companies products) have insulated carriers that might work for you.

Boil water, put it in Nalgene (a gatorade bottle can melt) and put it in something insulated - if you dont have the OR bottle parka, just wrap the bottle up in a spare fleece or down jacket before you put it in your pack. It will stay warm all day even if its -30 C out.

quote:

Originally posted by fern:

pack the bottle upside down so the bottom freezes rather than the top?