Light is right..or is it?

Dane

We have come so far in the "light is right" scheme over the last 30 years.

Much of it is awesome and helpful in the mountains. Some of it I think has gone too far.

The good stuff?

super light weight stretchy clothing

slw ice tools

slw light caribiners

slw crampons

Not so good?

skinny, super light weight, super stretchy ropes

slw boots that wear out in a season

slw light packs that don't last but one climb

Unless you are a professional climber who gets new gear after every climb and free boots every year I think it is a bad idea. I love lwt ropes but if they make a fall in the alpine longer maybe they aren't the best idea.

Discuss?

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm new at this game but wondering how stretchy ropes that lower impact forces on your pro are bad news. I can see how hitting a ledge would negate that argument pretty quick, but what else is the downside of them? How much longer of a fall are we talking?

It would seem like alpine falls would generate less fall factor (or impact force) due to the fact that one would probably tumble down. So it would seem like there would be less rope stretch regardless of diameter, maybe hardly any. Now the skinny ropes cutting over sharp alpine edges are a different matter. All in all, I would think the modern skinny ropes are not a bad thing.

Agree with all LW gear that doesn't last long. I haven't bought anything new in a while so I must have the good heavy stuff. (as far as boots and packs) WHat packs and boots have you seen wear out so soon? (that way we can avoid them! :) )

Skinny ropes? Saw two falls this winter that ended up being much longer than they should have been because of rope stretch on 7.8 twins and 8.2 dbls. Falls? DBL what you'd get from a decent single 10.5 mm.

Boots? Pick any of the fabric stuff. Although the sticky rubber is a big advantage. Fit generally isn't