Anyone here ever been sponsored?

Braydon

• Replies 84
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

there are grants available specifically for young climbers (<25 yo) from the American Alpine Club (and possibly other sources too). I have no personal experience with these grants, but have a friend who got one for a big expedition. Some factors why she and her partner were awarded the grant: goals of new routes in a remote, largely undeveloped and seldom explored area, and extensive climbing resumes to back up their ambitions.

My advice: search around for grants if you feel you're qualified and/or work your ass off and save up the cash

Lots of resources available for a proven team. I got a AAC grant years ago for a Alaskan trip. All you have to do is ask. But it is generally a stipend and not close to the full amount you'd need to finance a trip.

A selection board picks the teams they think worthy.

Advice? You asked but it is going to be harsh. Get some more experience on something lower (and cheaper) than a 7000m Himalayian peak before you get you ass handed to you.

What you guys don't know about altitude sickness, snow conditions, glacier travel and weather is what will most likely get you into serious shit. Doesn't matter if you are 15 or 35. Assuming you have the technical skills, without that experience base and knowledge you had better have a good fucking baby sitter that can literally pick you up and haul your ass off the mountain if something goes wrong. Can you do that now for each other? Do you know when you should? Know how to put a med kit together and use it?

I say that with all due affection for you guys while having a buddy still sitting at 23,000 on GII and a five more buried forever in avalanches.

Climbing above 10K is serious stuff. Getting above 20K even more so. Next to Kilimanjaro, Aconcagua is one of the easiest mtns in the world. You can go to 20K' in tennis shoes on either or die there in a storm the next day.