[TR] Squamish BC - Polaris 8/6/2008

Trip: Squamish BC - Polaris

Date: 8/6/2008

Trip Report:

Hi everyone, I haven't posted here for a couple of years so I'm pretty rusty at this (bear with me). I wanted to share photos and a topo of a route that my friend Reuben and I had been working on for three years. We actually completed the first ascent last August (2007), but since there isn't an updated Squamish guide coming out for some time we thought this would be a good way to spread the information. Polaris ascends the Zodiac wall of the Chief on the other side of the North Gully from Angel's Crest. Here are some photos from bottom to top on the FA, enjoy!

Kris Wild following the first pitch, 5.10c. You can see the recently rock-scoured North Gully below. August2007082.jpg[/img]

Reuben Shelton starting the steep second pitch 5.11c (5.11a, A0) August2007083.jpg[/img]

Here's Reuben beginning the fourth pitch. Don't worry, it's only 5.10c and you don't need anything bigger than a #4 camalot. After that it's bolted.... Sorry to the purists, but there's probably only a handful of people in the country with a rack big enough for this pitch.

August2007091.jpg

This is how big the crack starts out as at the belay:

August2007101.jpg

And here's how big it is at the top:

August2007103.jpg

Reuben chillin' out on turtle ledge before pitch five. So named for his uncanny ability to always have to take a crap when he got here...

August2007107.jpg

Reuben staying serious getting in touch with his inner Ninja after the crux of pitch six, 5.10c.

August2007108.jpg

Here I am following the same pitch. I think this is some of the steepest perfect 5.9 hands in Squamish. (But I'm probably biased...)

August2007111.jpg

The seventh pitch bears a striking resemblance to Astro-logger, but I think it's easier. 5.11b

August2007115.jpg

Pitch eight is is a sport route. 45m of bolted face climbing. 5.11b The roof looks a little daunting from this vantage point!

August2007119.jpg