How to choose pack and sleeping bag

thesam

So I've just about run my 70L backpack and old 40F bag into the ground. They're old and lasted me many good years. I'm new to the PNW and mountaineering altogether and have mostly done 5-7 day trips at lower elevations out east.

I'd like to get a new pack and a new bag to replace my old ones, but also to offer me the chance to get into mountaineering this year. I'd like to be able to take this stuff on a summer overnighter with my wife and, if possible, up one of the volcanoes some day.

What should I be looking for in both a backpack and a sleeping bag? Any crowd favorites here at CC? I'm not on a budget as long as it's multi-purpose, quality stuff that I'll have for years.

To throw a few names out there. In bags I was looking at the Osprey Aether and the Gregory Makalu Pro. For bags, nothing specific but I prefer down and am a relatively cold sleeper. How low of a temperature rating is good for the Cascades, keeping in mind I'm all about winter camping at low elevations.

Edited by thesam

• Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

70 L is too big for an overnighter. Get something smaller, 50 L or less, and lighter. Carry less gear. Be lighter and faster.

I would not try to get one sleeping bag for all seasons. Summertime here, 30 degrees, wintertime, probably fifteen-zero degrees.

I love my Serratus Icefall but that company doesn't exist anymore. I've seen a lot of Cold Cold World packs on the backs of friends and other climbers I respect. A guy here named crackers runs Cilogear and a lot of people here like his stuff.

As far as the pack, it somewhat depends on all of the other gear you have. The pack merely allows you to carry the stuff you really need.