The Potholes

samdude19

Has anyone climbed at The Potholes area south of Moses Lake? Although the routes look short, it looks like a decent place for me to practice trad climbing which I am just getting into. According to Rock Climbing Washington it appears to have quite a few climbs rated 5.7 and under that I could practice placing gear and making anchors on while not having to struggle too much with the climbing aspects. I cant find any info on the area over the internet though, is it closed to climbing now or what? Any info would be much appreciated.

I recently moved to Bellingham but am going to school in Pullman during fall through spring. Any other suggestions for easier climbing with minimal crowds in Eastern WA? Thanks.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My boyfriend and I went out there once to try to find that place, couldn't. Instead we caught frogs and swabbed a couple bass some guys caught and I tested them for chytrid fungus, those potholes have so much chytrid! The state finally recognized the problem last spring and contributed to it more by putting in a bunch of poison to eradicated the bullfrogs (carrier of chytrid) and consequentially all the other frogs, a little more complicated than that but I sure wouldn't eat the bass or any bullfrogs from there!!!

There is definetely climbing at the Potholes. Check out Rick La Belle's (sp?)new guide to central washington rock. Very cool. Multiple desert venues are covered, as well as Banks Lake rock. Kind of a fun book to discover when you live in the middle of Washington. I know I am psyched to climb many of the routes in this book. Cheers!

Jens