Yocum Ridge

climbing4fun2000

Hey, who wants to climb Yocum Ridge on Mt. Hood?

Ok, Ok, I'm not technically ready for that route yet but it is my dream climb. Has anyone done it? What is it like? How would you prepare for it both physically and mentally?

Oh yeh, when the time comes who would be interested in joining me?

------Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow--

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Get used to v. steep semi-consolidated snow and rime ice. I haven't done Yocum, but did Castle Crags in the winter, which is reputably similar (it's right above Illumination Saddle and traverses above the Reid Headwall). Think lots of steep and unprotectable rime and snow with a fair bit of traversing on the steep. If the easterlies are blowing, which is not uncommon when the weather and conditions are favorable, count on high winds (40 to 50+ mph) on the ridgecrest and lots of spindrift.

That said, it's a neat looking route and I've been told is not that technically difficult - more of a mind bender than anything else.

I climbed Yocum Ridge in April with a higher than average rime load on it. Walter is right - the climb is not technically difficult and it involves a lot of traverssing on steep slopes, with some short sections of steep rime ice, never even close to vertical for more than twenty or thirty feet unless you go out of your way to make it difficult. That said, be prepared for adventure: I believe we belayed 15-16 pitches, and there was not one truly solid anchor anywhere. If you are up for it, it is a fun climb.

-Mattp