Intro and getting started

alakso

Greetings everyone. Thought I take a minute to introduce myself and ask a few questions. My name is alakso, and I'm from the Penobscot Indian Nation in Maine. I'm 47 and a former Marine. I'm just getting started in serious backpacking and totally new to Mountaineering. I appreciate everyones sharing of info, many thanks. I can see I have a lot to learn!.

So how does one get started?

From what little I know I was thinking I'd go this route. This winter I'll read and learn about Mountaineering from Books (Mountaineering, The Freedom of the Hills), Videos/DVD's(any recommendations?), and forums like this one. Spend as much time hiking this winter as I can. Then next summer train on Mt. Katahdin (which is my peoples sacred Mountain) and hike the AT here in Maine to get into better shape. Next winter take some Mountaineering classes with Acadia Mountain Guides here in Maine and or Eastern Mountain climbing school and or International Mountain climbing school in NH. I would like to climb Mt. Katahdin and or Mt. Washington next winter '07. Then take some advanced Mountaineering classes as my skills and experience get better. My ultimate goal is to climb Denali. But what's more important is to enjoy myself along the way and develope good Mountaineering skills. The journey is more important than the goal!

Now for a few questions if everybody doesn't mind. I was hoping that I could find gear that would work all the way through my learning curve. The main things I'm wondering about is what options I'd need in my pack, and which Sleeping bag/system and Tent to buy for backpacking and mountaineering. Any gear that would work for all 4-season would be great.

Packs:

I'm buying a McHale's CM pack for backpacking and climbing Mt. Katahdin and Mt. Washington, all the way through my climb of Denali. Any options or prefered setups that I should consider for my requirements?