In Too Deep, 5.10a

catbirdseat

I top roped this route on Sunshine Wall yesterday. I'm pretty sure I could lead it. Given that it pinches down to fists in several places, it would seem that it could be led using several 2.5-3.5 inch cams and perhaps 3-4 larger cams in the 5-7 inch range. It has one or two chockstones that can be tied off. Has anyone out there led this one? Martin? Craig?

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

It's pretty easy when on toprope to minimize the gumption needed to get past one short unprotected spot, so I will defend Catbird on his reluctance to believe his own eyes.

That said, I doubt the opinions of other climbers of total varying abilities' are going to give much more useful beta than a close-up personal evaluation.

You'd think so, but I have little experience leading offwidths. Sometimes what looks like it might work, doesn't always in practice. It gets really wide up top, but could probably be run out because it's quite easy, almost a chimney. The guide book doesn't say anything about gear unlike the adjacent offwidth Blue Autumn, so it probably takes more standard gear.

• 2 weeks later...

I led the route yesterday. To get up on the broken column, I placed two small nuts in the crack belonging to the 5.11b route to the right. After the column top, I got in a #3.5 Friend (you are in grounder territory here, but this part is easy). You also get two Camalot #4.5 placements (I had only one- backcleaned the first below chockstone), a chockstone tie-off and another 3.5 Friend, seven placements in all. If I had a Camalot #5 I would have used it. The last 15 ft is too wide for anything but a Bigbro, but it is easy.

This route is significantly easier than Steel Grill, 5.9. The only loose part to watch out for is going over the broken column top. The route length is almost exactly 25 m.

• 4 weeks later...