Alpine Touring Stuff

sweatinoutliquor

Okay, my alpine boots are getting thrashed, and I'm thinking about replacing them with AT boots (I'm sick of carrying skies and boots on the pack, rediculas weight). I was wondering if y'all can help me out with this stuff. What's the gig with these boots? Are they just lighter? Are they designed so that you can climb in them? Can I use them in replacement of regular alpine boots (like cruising Bachlor crud all day)? What boots are good? I was thinking about Garmont G-rides, but am way to underinformed to make a good descision here. And while we are at it, how about bindings with releasing heels? confused.gif

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm by no means an expert on the subject, but did get my first AT setup two seasons ago after a long career on an alpine setup. I have the Scarpa Lasers, and Fritschi Freerides mounted on K2 T9X. I tried every combo of AT skis with AT boots, with alpine boots, and both boots with the alpine setup. The AT boots with the AT skis was by far the best combo for me. The AT boots are a dream to ski with, very comfortable and warm. The only thing I find difficult with the AT stuff WRT skiing on ski area snow (as opposed to natural) is ice. In icy conditions, the heft of the regular alpine gear comes in way handy. Otherwise though, the AT stuff really rocks the dome.