Is anything left to climb

Neri

Running out of options for a moderate glacier-snow climb in the cascade all reports looking grim shocked.gif wonder any suggestion on what to do in the beginning of September?

I will be in Mount Baker vicinity doing fisher chimney first, on Mount Shuksan and then I will have 3 ½ days to spare

PS I have newbie on my rope team.

------------------

Neri Carmi

nericarmi@yahoo.com

[This message has been edited by Neri (edited 08-16-2001).]

[This message has been edited by Neri (edited 08-16-2001).]

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

wopper you be right. i would say for the money it is the best glacier climb around. you don't have to waste so much time slogging up some crappy glacier on to have to slog back down it.

and if you do do it, i would say burgandy is much much much faster.

I have to second Sahale. I took an absolute beginner up the Quien Sabe route late last Sept. It was a piece of cake. Even with instruction on ice axe and crampon use, rope work, etc., plus walking down the arm side and down the road to the car, it was only ten hours car-to-car. One light axe each, aluminum crampons, and a thin 30-meter rope will suffice. I never felt the need for snow or ice pro. Kevin wanted to rap from the top, so we did one rap.

Look at N. Face of Maude too, and maybe the Entiat Icefall route on Maude depending on the strength of your partner.

Have fun.

John Sharp

Rearranging terms we have:

Ruth + snow = glacier = Eldorado

Pyramid = snowfieldglacier - snow^2field

As for Sahale, plenty of folks chicken out on the final scramble. <insert chicken graphic here> But I agree, you ought to be able to short rope your greatgrandma up to the ridge... probably easier if you wax the coffin first.

I wouldn't take weaklings up Daniel that late - doesn't that require a boat? You might as well do Clark heh heh heh...