[TR] Mount Outram- Ghost Passenger (FA/FWA East Face) 3/12/2005

Dru

Climb: Mount Outram-Ghost Passenger (FA/FWA East Face)

Date of Climb: 3/12/2005

Trip Report:

I have been scheming to climb the East Face of Outram for a couple of years now. The large, gullied face is hard to see from most roads but you can get glimpses from some other peaks, and the view from Snass (Justin Brown has some awesome shots on bivouac.com) is quite impressive.

In August 2003 Fred Touche and I hiked up the standard route on Outram and I took a look see down the face and deemed it possible.

In 2004 Merran and I hiked in in May planning to go up the standard route, drop down a gully at the S end of the e face and climb back out up another gully. However this approach, due to weather and also the fact that all the gullies are too steep to be comfortable descents, failed and we ended up bagging the standard route once again.

I know Justin and Jordan also made one attempt and had the same problem.

For 2005 I decided to head in via the old Ghost Pass trail and up the creek draining the east face. I gleaned some beta on this approach from the usual online sources and prepared for windfall and thrashing. The nice descent down the standard route means the best climbing choice is to carry over bivi gear and I packed accordingly. No stove, cold food, two tools, crampons, a few jacket layers, a -7C sleeping bag for a possible long night bivi and a 3/4 length z-rest.