Climbing Skins

Illini

I'm in the market for climbing skins for a pair of Atomic TM 11's but I have no experience with backcountry setups. The dimension of the ski's are 92/67/82 and 160 cm. I've searched around on Telemark tips but did not find much specific information or rather I got tired of sorting through all of the crap. Can anyone make a recommendation for brand, type, size, and attachment style? I thought I would try posting here to get an opinion on what is best for PNW snow.

Thanks

• Replies 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

i have the G3 skins and i really like the attachment style, at the back. It stays on and can be tightened easily, good for when the snow turns to slop and your skins get all wet and stop sticking.

you can cut them to size, if you get 90 and cut them you will have better skinning.

I've searched around on Telemark tips but did not find much specific information or rather I got tired of sorting through all of the crap. Can anyone make a recommendation for brand, type, size, and attachment style?

This is pretty funny. There's a lot of "crap" posted over there because opinions differ. Cman recommends G3's with tail hooks; I recommend purple Ascensions (BD) with no tail hook at all. Both of us can probably make a compelling case for our preferences. We agree on the width: 90mm, trimmed to fit. Next poster will probably recommend something else entirely—maybe Glide-lites or Low Fats—and before you know it you're back where you started: overloaded with "crap."

If you don't want to sort through it all, stop researching and make your purchase, following his advice, mine, or someone else's arbitrarily. In the end, it's not going to make much of a difference; far more important will be learning the skills to use whatever skins you choose with speed and efficiency and without undue stress. Good luck.