• Announcements

• olyclimber

WELCOME TO THE CASCADECLIMBERS.COM FORUMS   02/03/18

We have upgraded to new forum software as of late last year, and it makes everything here so much better!  It is now much easier to do pretty much anything, including write Trip Reports, sell gear, schedule climbing related events, and more. There is a new reputation system that allows for positive contributors to be recognized,  it is possible to tag content with identifiers, drag and drop in images, and it is much easier to embed multimedia content from Youtube, Vimeo, and more.  In all, the site is much more user friendly, bug free, and feature rich!   Whether you're a new user or a grizzled cascadeclimbers.com veteran, we think you'll love the new forums. Enjoy!
Sign in to follow this  
robpatterson5

Socks

Hey, I'm new to ice climbing and winter camping and was wondering what you guys are useing on your feet this winter? Anyone useing the Smartwool Mounteeners, or Climb High boiled wool socks? What about VBL's? I'll be useing these with a pair of leathers. Anything else I should look out for?

Cheers: Rob

I use Smartwool Mountaineers and insulated boots. Sometimes I use a liner, but that is pretty rare.

I usually using Smartwool hiking socks. My feet run warm. I don't use liners, ever, too many problems with them shifting and causing blisters.

smartwool makes awesome socks. you don't really need liners if you've got the right socks. wool is best as it won't harness stench over time. watch out for socks with annoying seams that may be an issue and cause hot spots. also, stay away from socks that are so thick your boots are really tight as this inhibits circulation (which makes your feet colder).