beginner progression advice

Blakej

I'm looking to get lots of alpine experinece this coming year but being a southern boy for the most part I have no glacier experience and I pretty much refuse to take a class being old school and figuring everyone should have a climbing mentor. The question is are there any safe glaciers or areas to go out solo and walk around to gain confidence on crampons or ice axe arrest. I'm assuming arresting on ice is much different than snow. And what about alpine "climbs" that are safe enough to build confidence and provide a progressing, build my confidence reading snow and avalanch hazzards.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm looking to get lots of alpine experinece this coming year but being a southern boy for the most part I have no glacier experience and I pretty much refuse to take a class being old school and figuring everyone should have a climbing mentor. The question is are there any safe glaciers or areas to go out solo and walk around to gain confidence on crampons or ice axe arrest. I'm assuming arresting on ice is much different than snow. And what about alpine "climbs" that are safe enough to build confidence and provide a progressing, build my confidence reading snow and avalanch hazzards.

I've put this up a few times before, but it might be useful to you anyway...

Beginner Progression

Jason

Blakej, most of us are self-taught or taught by close friends. Here are some additional suggestions for you:

If in Seattle/PDX, come to Pub Club and simply ask the people around you how they learned and what good beginner routes are: you will get excellent advice, and be able to have a give-and-take interaction that isnt possible on this board. You will get not only great advice on how to start, but what gear is worth investing in and what isnt.

Read Mountaineering Freedom of the Hills and Andy Selter's excellent Glacier Travel and Crevasse Rescue.