altitude sickness

Collin

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

i would pick up the small little "booklet" publication that the american alpine club puts out...i think it is called "altitude sickness" by dr hackett? that has some good info...some folks hit a "wall" at about 10k and cant handle altitude at all (rare, but possible)...my suggestion is to keep experimenting...there is no magic cure all for you body producing more red blood cells (which is what you need to process more oxygen at lower pressures (ie altitude)

I've got some tings to share, but I should preface them by sayibng these are just bits I've picked up here and there. I'm far from an expert.

1. The statement "walk down hill" is not just being conservative. I've been told by a climber/doctor in Bellinham that the only cure (remedy the problem) for altitude sickness is descent/hyperbaric chamber. Obviously in the cascades you can ususally push throught the symptoms long enough to summit, THEN descend and feel better, but for higher stuff, once the real symptoms kick in, they probably won't go away w/o descent (again, MINOR symptoms might take care of themselves)

2. Medicines are useful for temporary relief from symptoms, but don't do much as a cure. In the cascades and CO, I've used ibu and tums w/ reasonable sucsess, but maybe I've just been dealing w/ upset stomache from a double order of eggs and bacon followed by high excertion, not as much alt. sickness. A friend reported reasonable sucsess with coca leaves in Ecuador, and I've heard (as metioned above) of others using cocaine w/ sucsess. I've been told (b'ham doc) that diamox is useful as a temporary rellief unitl your able to decesnd, but shoundn't be used to extend your range. Finally, as an aid to maintaining hydration/"clean" blood, a himilayan tour guide told me green and black tea in large quantities does good at simultainiously hydrating/ flushing toxins.