Liberty Crack Bivies

nalo

I have read about a few different options for possible bivouac locations on liberty crack. One, a small cave above the eighth pitch, and another larger ledge that is accessible via rapel from I think the 7th pitch. Has anyone spent the night in either of these places, or somewhere else? I know sleeping aloft is not the standard way to climb this route, but it sure sounds like a great way to pass the night to me. Thanks for any info.

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Well, thanks for the great info guys. I am new to cascadeclimbers, and it really seems like a great resource and a great community. That 10th pitch triangle ledge... how big is it? also, I don't really mind the jumar, so how big is the 8th pitch rappel ledge? Does the opportunity exist to back up the 1/4s with some pro exist? I'll probably have 2 in my party, and I want to find somewhere we can actually sleep. Thanks again guys.

If you're thinking about going as high as pitch 10 for a bivy, keep in mind that you're damn near to the top by then, and consider the summit itself for a site. Things get very ledgy as you approach the top, plenty of places to hang out without having to tie in, and your views would really open up. That may not be the exposed experience you're looking for, but it would be a great place for sunset and sunrise. And you're that much closer to water in the morning.

I would stay away from the rotten block (for a bivy). It could be rather windy, uncomfortable, and (one of these days)it's going to peel off the wall. I agree with DonnV: a couple of pitches above the "Triangle Ledge" and you've got all the room in the world to bivi (large sandy ledges with summit views).

I have just looked down on the ledge between the 7-8 pitch. It looks big enough and you might be able to back the bolts up with wide gear. I have to wonder if the 1st ascent team didn't back the bolt up with pitons.